Author Topic: Ankle microfracture / drilling, brostrom, biocartelige  (Read 11334 times)

Offline 1168phil

• View Profile
Ankle microfracture / drilling, brostrom, biocartelige
« on: November 17, 2013, 12:14:02 AM »
This forum has really helped me come to an understanding of my ankle, and hopefully I can pay it forward. Late June of 2012 I stepped on a guy's foot while playing basketball (just running down the court, not landing from a jump). After many a misdiagnosis and tons of different treatments 17 months later, I'm left with surgery or live with the pain. I have opted for surgery as I can't continue to play basketball as I am now. The surgeon is doing a microdrilling, aided with biocartelige and bone marrow to be extracted from my heel, to fix my 10x6x7mm OCD. I am also having a Brostrom procedure concurrently to reconstruct my outer ligament. This is my first time having surgery so to say I'm nervous is quite an understatement. The surgeon thinks I can return to work (at the library) 10 days later as long as I remain NWB. I'm 28, was in great shape before the injury but not any longer. 10 days sounds VERY optimistic from what I've read online. If anyone who comes across this post has any advice, opinions, words of wisdom, questions, please don't hesitate. My surgery is on Wednesday, Nov 20 of 2013 and I plan to update throughout for those who may be interested.

Offline umtum

• View Profile
Re: Ankle microfracture / drilling, brostrom, biocartelige
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2013, 01:07:52 PM »
hi Phil,